A review..

I read this yesterday: 

Daily Prompt: Sweet Sixteen

When you were 16, what did you think your life would look like? Does it look like that? Is that a good thing?

These questions gave me a headache.  And I kept thinking about them all day.  When I was sixteen things were blurry (for many reasons).  I do know for certain that when I was sixteen I had no idea what my life would look like.  And thus I began a review of Monday, January 21st.

8AM @ work thought:  When I was sixteen did I think I would be working at a job when I was forty-something?  Yes.  More importantly though – did I know what I would be doing?  No.  (I still wonder what I will be when I grow up.)

7PM @ home vacuuming up dog hair thought: When I was sixteen did I think that one day I would have a husband, children, a house in the suburbs and a couple of cars?   I was hopeful.  Did I know who or when or how this would happen?  No.  (I have been blessed!)

11PM @ bedtime:  When I was sixteen did I think that I would be “den mother” to three dogs and a lizard?  Yes – to the dogs.  The lizard is a total surprise. (For the record the dogs do sleep on the bed, the lizard is in his cage.)

Final thoughts:  When I was sixteen did I think I would be thinking about when I was sixteen when I was “old”?  No.  (And when I was sixteen I thought forty-something was old.) 

Perhaps forty-something is really just Sweet Sixteen – Part 2. 

About toastandgems

I am an observer of people, places and things.
This entry was posted in Creative Non-Fiction, The Daily Post and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A review..

  1. Diana says:

    when I was sixteen. I know I missed you:)

Leave a Reply

