What is normal? Daily Prompt response…

Many of us think of our lives as boringly normal, while others live the high life. Take a step back, and take a look at your life as an outsider might. Now, tell us at least six unique, exciting, or just plain odd things about yourself.

Things about me….

Coffee – back away until I’ve had mine.  Fresh ground beans please.

Invisibility – my preferred superpower.   I like to observe folks and it is awkward when they catch you watching them…

Honest – Yes!  Isn’t it easier to be honest than to create a diversion to circumvent an issue?  Who has the energy for that?  Not me.

Fashion – Thank goodness I wear a butt ugly staff t-shirt for work.   And yes, you can wear Birks with socks in the winter.

Loyalty – I am fiercely loyal to those I care about, to a fault.  I am deeply wounded when I am slighted by those I have let get close to me.

A sense of humor – I have one.  How else would I get through life?

The Daily Good:   When I sit at my writing desk, I look out into the top ten feet of the green ash tree we planted some twenty years ago.  Today I looked up to see a Northern Flicker Woodpecker stop by to perch, for a moment, in the winter-naked branches of the tree.  (I only know it was a Northern Flicker Woodpecker because I spent 45 minutes on the internet researching Birds in Calgary).  Such a handsome bird!

A Northern Flicker Woodpecker. Very handsome.

A Northern Flicker Woodpecker. Very handsome.

 

A bonus Daily Good is that from this view I can also see a flock of pigeons sitting on the grouchy neighbour’s roof.  It appears that they roost there often – the brown roof top is fairly white and yet it hasn’t snowed for a time.      …ahh…Karma…

About toastandgems

I am an observer of people, places and things.
This entry was posted in Creative Non-Fiction, Life and Times, The Daily Post and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

