A week in review…sort of

I’ve been looking at the Daily Prompts over the last week or so.  Each one has inspired me.  However, I have not been able to put more than ten words down without it becoming a jumble of nonsense.  Complete lack of focus.  And so, I begin the summary version of a few of the daily prompts of the last week.

No Thanks.  A place I would never want to visit.  Hmm… I do not think I have one of those.  I mean, every experience builds you up, right?  Even the ones that are challenging will surely provide you with growth and learning.

Places.  Beach, mountain, forest?  Yes please!  All of it.  I am blessed to be able to see the mountains every day.  We live close to Fish Creek Provincial Park.  It lies within the city limits and you can imagine being in a real forest.  And the real forest is only a short drive away.  The beach?  Well, OGG is a six-hour flight.  I will go again, soon.

Fish Creek Provincial Park.

Fish Creek Provincial Park.

Buffalo Nickel.  First coin I find, what was I doing that year?  1991.  That was a year!  I moved to YYC, got married, bought a house, started making plans to be a grown-up.  Still here, same husband, same house, still wondering what to be when I grow up.  Ha ha ha!!!

Seconds.  Describe your favorite meal.  I admit I am an emotional eater.  So the favorite meal will vary on any given day.  Food always tastes better when paired with laughter, though.  (Unless circumstances bring you to a wedge of brie, a small jar of fig jam and the perfect crisp cracker – that is something to be treasured all by yourself).

A final note on my week:   Life has a funny way of sending you in different directions.  On the outside things may appear the same while on the inside you may be gutted like a fish.  And even if the changes which impact you are positive, perhaps it is not what you expected or planned for.  The key, for me, is acknowledging and accepting the changes and challenges that have been put before me and looking forward with openness.  And so I tell myself – Snap Out of It! Life is good. Pass the brie.

The Daily Good:

Yesterday is The Daily Good that is today.  Today is a snow storm in YYC – it is ripper!!  It is not unusual to have this happen in March, our biggest snowfalls (in my memory) happen in March.  There was a time when I would relish in the story of running through a blizzard, but not so much now.  Yesterday, a couple running friends and I did our long run in snow-free conditions along the river in Fish Creek.  We had fog and a cool temperature and the smell of snow was in the air.  It was glorious.  It was a Weekend Good!

About toastandgems

I am an observer of people, places and things.
This entry was posted in Creative Non-Fiction, Life and Times, The Daily Post and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A week in review…sort of

  1. Love your daily good!

Leave a Reply

