No risk, no reward.

Daily Prompt: What are you more comfortable with — routine and planning, or laissez-faire spontaneity?

Oh, and this topic on a Friday!  Bonus.

Googled: Spontaneity.  Result from Merriam-Webster online: 
1: the quality or state of being spontaneous
2: voluntary or undetermined action or movement; also: its source
 

1) On being spontaneous.  Well, because I am a Gemini, I have two versions.  My practical, logical side screams with fright and hides under the bed at the thought of being spontaneous.  My fun-seeking, throw caution to the wind side says ” Let’s go!”  My reality is somewhere in the middle with calculated risk equalling a suitable reward.  Have I veered off in either direction?  Yep.  Has it been ok? Mostly.  I think sometimes we think to much…

2) Voluntary or undetermined action or movement.  Ahh.. yes.  For me, this may reflect the times when times of frustration or weakness overrule logic.  Example #1:  Run a marathon with an injured hip.  What could possibly happen?  Result: further injury, not lacing up the running shoes again for a year, “monkey” off the back.  Example #2:  Implement “Cake Friday” at work as a means to embrace the awesomeness of cake and foster workplace camaraderie.  Result:  renewed need to begin running again…

The Daily Good:

Today I woke up at 4AM.  This is not a good thing for me as I am not a morning person. However, rather than tossing and turning and clock-watching; I embraced the cold, snowy, foggy darkness of this ridiculous hour and began my morning routine.  So far, so good!  The coffee was delicious, slow-cooker is prepped and a possible late afternoon nap penciled in.  TGIF!!

 

 

 

About toastandgems

I am an observer of people, places and things.
This entry was posted in Creative Non-Fiction, Life and Times, The Daily Post and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to No risk, no reward.

  1. Angela says:

    I love the embracing of the early morning, AND scheduling a nap! Enjoy your Friday!

  2. Jac says:

    Urph. I was up at 4 a.m. as well, but insisted on staying in bed until a reasonable hour. No slowcooker happily cooking away, but may still plan a late afternoon nap … 🙂

Leave a Reply

