The Natural World – Yes Please!

Daily Prompt:  Describe your first memorable experience exploring and spending time in nature. Were you in awe? Or were you not impressed? Would you rather spend time in the forest or the city? 

My first real memory of being in nature is me at four or five years old running through an immense meadow of grass far far away from my home.  The reality is that it was probably an undeveloped lot within site of my mother’s kitchen window  – but it felt HUGE! I felt free!  These flowers always remind me of that meadow:

Castilleja_coccinea_plant - A flower from my childhood.

Castilleja_coccinea_plant – A flower from my childhood.

 

Perhaps it is no surprise that my favorite running routes are on paths near to water and well within nature.  I am so blessed to live near a provincial park where I can tour on dirt, shale and even paved pathways.  On truly special days you can see coyotes or deer or even a moose.  It is special to me.

A shale pathway in Fish Creek Provincial Park.

A shale pathway in Fish Creek Provincial Park.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Daily Good 

We are frequent visitors to the dog parks within our city.  Today we headed out for some fun.  It was hot!

Jessie, Patti, Pepper

Jessie, Patti, Pepper

About toastandgems

I am an observer of people, places and things.
This entry was posted in Life and Times, The Pets. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

